

19 April 2018

INTERNATIONAL RENEWABLE ENERGY AGENCY Eighth session of the Assembly

Abu Dhabi, 13 – 14 January 2018

Report of the Credentials Committee

1. At its eighth session the Assembly appointed the Credentials Committee, consisting of the following members: Belgium, Dominican Republic, Germany, Ghana, Japan, Kazakhstan, Nigeria, Poland, and Thailand.

2. The Credentials Committee met on **13 January 2018** and elected Mr. Amer El Kadi of the Dominican Republic as Chairperson.

3. The Committee examined the credentials submitted to the Secretariat in accordance with Rule 24 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly in respect of the representatives registered to attend the eighth session of the Assembly. The Committee had before it the information provided by the Secretariat on the status of the credentials received as at 13 January 2018.

4. The Committee determined that, as at 13 January 2018, the Members listed below had submitted credentials in the form required by Rule 24 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, or were represented by the competent authority and therefore deemed to conform to the credentials requirement:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Cameroon, China, Colombia, Comoros, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, European Union, Fiji, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guyana, Iceland, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lebanon, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Nauru, Kingdom of the Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, , Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tonga, Turkey, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

5. The Committee noted that a number of Members had not submitted credentials in due form, or had not submitted any credentials. In accordance with Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, the Committee recommends that the representatives of these Members be permitted to participate provisionally in the eighth session of the Assembly on the understanding that their credentials in the proper form will be submitted to the IRENA Secretariat as soon as possible.

6. The Committee recommends that the Assembly call upon all IRENA Members to submit to the Secretariat the credentials of their representative if possible not less than seven days in advance of the relevant session of the Assembly as provided in Rule 24 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, but in no event later than the opening of the session.

7. The Committee recommends that the Assembly requests the Secretariat to issue to all IRENA Members, at least three months before each session of the Assembly and as may be needed thereafter, a reminder about the requirement to submit the credentials of their representatives in accordance with Rule 24 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly, and no later than the opening of the session.