The Council

The IRENA Council is composed of 21 Member States elected for a two-year term and is accountable to the Assembly. Council members serve on a rotating basis to ensure the effective participation of both developing and developed countries and a fair and equitable geographical distribution. The Council’s responsibilities include facilitating consultation and cooperation among IRENA Members and reviewing the draft work programme, draft budget and annual report.

The twenty-fifth IRENA Council will take place from 23-24 May 2023, in Abu Dhabi. The meetings of subsidiary organs of the Council will take place on 22 May 2023, in Abu Dhabi.

IRENA’s thirteenth Assembly elected the following countries to serve on the Council in 2023: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Canada, China, Egypt, Germany, Ghana, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Nigeria, Panama, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Rwanda, Spain, Tonga, United Arab Emirates, United States of America and Zimbabwe. Bangladesh, Cyprus, Denmark, Greece, Honduras, India, Malaysia, Mauritius, Saint Lucia, Togo, Uganda and Uruguay act as alternates.

Two committees currently assist the Council in its work:

Administration and Finance Committee
Chair: Maldives
Vice-Chair: Germany
Members: Antigua & Barbuda, China, Egypt, Germany, Maldives, Nigeria, Poland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and United States of America

Programme and Strategy Committee
Chair: United States of America
Vice-Chair: Algeria
Members: Algeria, Antigua & Barbuda, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Kenya, United Arab Emirates, and United States of America