Twenty-Fifth Meeting of the IRENA Council

The IRENA Council is composed of 21 Member States elected for a two-year term and is accountable to the Assembly. Council members serve on a rotating basis to ensure the effective participation of both developing and developed countries and a fair and equitable geographical distribution. The Council’s responsibilities include facilitating consultation and cooperation among IRENA Members and reviewing the draft work programme, draft budget and annual report.

IRENA’s thirteenth Assembly elected the following countries to serve on the Council in 2023:

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Canada, China, Egypt, Germany, Ghana, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Nigeria, Panama, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Rwanda, Spain, Tonga, United Arab Emirates, United States of America and Zimbabwe.

Bangladesh, Cyprus, Denmark, Greece, Honduras, India, Malaysia, Mauritius, Saint Lucia, Togo, Uganda and Uruguay act as alternates.

Two committees currently assist the Council in its work:

  • Administration and Finance Committee
    Chair: Maldives
    Vice-Chair: Germany
    Members: Antigua & Barbuda, China, Egypt, Germany, Maldives, Nigeria, Poland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and United States of America
  • Programme and Strategy Committee
    Chair: United States of America
    Vice-Chair: Algeria
    Members: Algeria, Antigua & Barbuda, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Kenya, United Arab Emirates, and United States of America

25th IRENA Council: Opening and High-level Panel on the Geopolitics of the Energy Transformation

25th IRENA Council: Global Status of Geothermal Market and Technology & Global Landscape of Renewable Energy Finance

25th IRENA Council: Accelerating Finance for Energy Transition